About Us

What is Architects of Diversity?

AoD runs unique programmes designed for secondary school students in Malaysia to tackle the hard questions of living in a multicultural society. Our future leaders need to learn how to navigate issues of stereotypes, privilege and conflict in this fast-changing world. We provide the tools to critically engage in sensitive conversations about race, religion and class through empathetic learning and listening.

Social stratification in Malaysia precipitates in almost every dimension - race, religion, economic class, geography, language and gender. Thus, we pioneer structured ways of bridging various communities and identities.

We firmly believe that empathy built through intimate interpersonal relationships across identity groups will create positive social dynamics for co-living.

UWCx Initiative, UWC Inspired

Architects of Diversity is a UWCx initiative, which means it has been recognised by UWC as furthering the UWC mission of making education a force for peace and a sustainable future. To find out more about UWC and UWCx, see here.”

We are inspired by UWC's distinctive educational model that uses deliberate diverse, engaged and motivated communities in order to create a transformative experience for students. In 2017, Malaysian UWC alumni initiated AoD as a platform to foster and adapt UWC values among Malaysian students. 

UWC makes education a force to unite people, nations and cultures for peace and a sustainable future.

What is UWC?

The United World Colleges (UWC) is an international nonprofit organisation with a presence in more than 156 countries (national committees) that promotes peace and international understanding through multicultural education. Founded in 1962 and chaired by Queen Noor of Jordan, Nelson Mandela was honorary president until his death in 2013.

UWC has 17 schools spread across America, Asia, Europe and Africa. Each school has around 200 students representing over 80 different nationalities. For more information, visit www.uwc.org. Malaysians may apply at www.my.uwc.org.

Core Team

Jason Wee

Co-Founder &

Lead Coordinator

jason@aodmalaysia.org

Preethika Bharadwaj

Project Manager

preethika@aodmalaysia.org

Azif Fazriq

Project Manager

azif@aodmalaysia.org

Sabrina Qistina

Project Manager

sabrina@aodmalaysia.org

Kieren Gill

Project Manager

kieren@aodmalaysia.org

Frieda Violet Thaveethu

Project Manager

frieda@aodmalaysia.org

Syuen Chia

Project Manager

syuen@aodmalaysia.org

ABOUT

Architects of Diversity is a recognised UWCx initiative. We are a registered organisation with the Registrar of Societies of Malaysia.

CONTACT

© 2019 by Architects of Diversity Malaysia